A Guide to Getting the IPMA Certification

oakinterlink > Project Management > A Guide to Getting the IPMA Certification

A Guide to Getting the IPMA Certification


The International Project Management Association (IPMA) offers a competency-based, four-level certification scheme for project, programme, and portfolio professionals worldwide. The certification levels include IPMA Level D (Certified Project Management Associate), IPMA Level C (Certified Project Manager), IPMA Level B (Certified Senior Project Manager), and IPMA Level A (Certified Projects Director)4. The benefits of IPMA certification include:

  • International Recognition: IPMA certification provides international recognition of a professional’s experience level in managing projects5.
  • Competence Validation: The certification validates the competences as described by the IPMA Individual Competence Baseline.
  • Career Advancement: The certification can help professionals advance in their project, programme, or portfolio management careers.

The exact cost of IPMA certification can vary significantly depending on the level of certification and the country in which you’re getting certified. 

In the USA, you can find details about the different levels and fees of IPMA certification on the IPMA USA website.

In Finland, the prices for certificates for consultants, coaches, and trainers are as follows2:

  1. IPMA CCT C-Level: 2,400 € (2,250 € for members of Project Professionals Finland)
  2. IPMA CCT B-Level: 4,000 € (3,850 € for members of Project Professionals Finland)
  3. IPMA CCT A-Level: 5,000 € (4,850 € for members of Project Professionals Finland)

In India, the registration fee for the IPMA certification program is Rs 55,400 plus GST @ 18%3.

Please note that these costs are subject to change and it’s always a good idea to check the official IPMA website or contact the local IPMA organization in your country for the most accurate and up-to-date information. Also, keep in mind that there may be additional costs for study materials, exam preparation courses, and other resources.

Obtaining the IPMA Certification 

The IPMA certification process involves the following steps:

  • Understand the IPMA Competence Baseline: This involves studying the IPMA Individual Competence Baseline (ICB) and understanding the competences required for project, programme, and portfolio management.
  • Apply for the certification: You can apply for the IPMA certification through your local IPMA Member Association.
  • Prepare for the assessment: This involves gathering evidence of your competence in project, programme, and portfolio management.
  • Undergo the assessment: The assessment process varies depending on the level of certification you are applying for. It may involve a written exam, a report, an interview, and/or a workshop.
  • Maintain your certification: The IPMA certification is valid for five years. To renew it, you need to demonstrate continued competence and professional development.

In conclusion, the IPMA certification stands as a beacon of excellence in project management, offering professionals a globally recognized standard to showcase their skills and expertise. Through its rigorous assessment criteria and commitment to continuous improvement, IPMA empowers individuals and organizations to achieve greater efficiency, effectiveness, and success in managing projects of all sizes and complexities.

Leave A Comment

All fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required

Verified by MonsterInsights